Blog, Uncategorized

Dare to Take Risks

Dear Jalen,

Life is funny sometimes. On somewhat of a whim, I thought writing this blog for you would be a good way to tell you about our family and to keep the photographs from collecting dust in a box underneath our bed. Besides, what good are photographs really if you don’t know the story behind each of them?

I think we’re off to a good start. That may be a little bit of an understatement. Let me explain.

The third entry in this blog was titled “The Key to Success” and it described how a brief moment in time can change a life and the importance of dreaming big. Little did I know that as I was writing that post, I was actually writing my way towards another life changing moment in time. Shortly after writing that entry I had come across an open call from Chicken Soup for the Soul to submit a true story to be considered for publication in a future book titled Think Possible.

“You know, sometimes all you need is twenty seconds of insane courage. Just literally twenty seconds of just embarrassing bravery. And I promise you, something great will come of it.” – Benjamin Mee

Chicken Soup for the Soul is a book series that consists of over 250 titles and has sold more than 110 million copies in the U.S. and Canada. The books have been translated in 43 different languages, published in over 100 countries and have sold more than 500 million copies worldwide. When I saw they were accepting submissions to be considered for Think Possible, I immediately thought of “The Key to Success” story I had just written for you. In it, I described how even the seemingly impossible things in life are entirely possible if you dream big and persist. Chicken Soup for the Soul receives thousands of entries for their books. I’ve never submitted to something like that before and being a novice writer, I didn’t expect anything to materialize from it. But, I did what the title said. I dreamed big and I thought maybe it could be possible. I made a few edits to fit within the guidelines and sent it in.

Jalen, I’m so excited to tell you that out of all the entries they received they chose the story I had written for you as one to publish in their book. Think Possible will be available beginning October 6th, 2015, and our calendar is marked to celebrate with you. I have a feeling you’ll recommend getting a vanilla milkshake. You LOVE vanilla milkshakes!

xoxo,

Mama

3 thoughts on “Dare to Take Risks”

Leave a Reply

